Seagull silliness

As I was on the phone with Mom earlier today, I noticed a few seagulls had landed on our front lawn. I looked up at my neighbor’s balcony just in time to see a few crumbs being tossed. And as expected, the driveway and roof next door looked like a Hitchcock movie in 2 seconds.

The seagulls nest in the cove next to my house, so one crumb thrown on the ground will bring dozens of them into the streets and yards. I find them amusing, but I’ve refrained from feeding them from my porch since I’ve lived here. I don’t think my neighbors or husband would be too happy with me if I caused a literal shit show all over our windows, cars, and decks. I’ve often heard seagulls being referred to as “obnoxious rats with wings.” And I remember how pissed Dad would get when I fed them from inside of his freshly washed truck. I don’t particularly want to face anybody’s wrath for bringing forth feathered bomb squads from the sky.

But I do enjoy the crazy visits from the little monsters when someone offers up the occasional birdie treat. To me, it’s just another fun part of coast life.

One thought on “Seagull silliness

Leave a comment